We were fortunate to have the rain hold off in time for the fourth club race in the 2014 series, though we did have a delayed start due to the tardy arrival of several marshals. As a reminder, per our Parks permit all marshals must be in their assigned location 15 minutes prior to the start of racing . We cannot start racing until that 15 minute requirement has been met, so please arrive on time for marshaling (late starts during the summer months will mean laps have to be cut). And always, do not ride on any walking paths in the Park – your support is essential to continuing to be able to race in Central Park and is very much appreciated.

After a busy month of racing with the CRCA Grant’s Tomb Crit and four club races, we have a bit of a break until our next race on April 19th. That race will be a special because it features our Men’s and Women’s Race Clinics (https://www.bikereg.com/crca-racing-clinic-2014) as well as the Club’s Women’s 35+ Master’s Championship (please note that there is no W or C field on 4/19).

And now for today’s results…

Women’s Development Series p/b hatchmap

In the CRCA Women’s Development Series p/b hatchmap the field stayed together for a sprint finish that was won by Victoria Brumfield of Radical Media ahead of Sara Yancovitz (Stan’s) and Meghan Schloat (CityMD).  Once again thank you to hatchmap for sponsoring this field and allowing us to offer an awesome $250 prize pool for each race in the series.

The next race in the series will be a W4 field on April 26. Please see Bikereg.com (https://www.bikereg.com/crca-womens-development-series) to register.

Women’s Club Race

In the CRCA Women’s Club Race a break of four featuring all of the major teams escaped with two to go and stayed away through the finish where Helen Hatch (Stan’s) took the win ahead of Lisa Vandivort (CityMD). Erica Adelberg (Radical Media) and Anneliese Haines (BHCC) rounded out the top four.

The peloton finished several minutes behind the break with BrittLee Bowman (Stan’s) taking the field sprint ahead of Renee Engelhardt (Radical Media) and Aimee Layton (CityMD).

Men’s A Field

The Men’s A Field was the largest peloton of the day with 69 starters. Mike Margarite of Weather Channel started the racing off with a long solo breakaway that lasted for several laps. When the field finally reeled him in a big break of 10+ riders escaped, ultimately finishing well ahead of the unmotivated peloton.

With three riders in that break Weather Channel delivered Kevin Molloy to the win, ahead of Chris Shaw (FGX) and Dylan Lowe (BHCC). Steve Magyera of Foundation rounded out the top four.

Men’s B Field

We don’t have any first person accounts from the B Field (email crcaresults[at]gmail.com if you’d like to contribute one) but this race ultimately came down to a field sprint won by Matthew Street (Foundation) ahead of Alyosha Smolarski (CRCA) and Jamisen Ogg (Cause & Effect).  John Kim (Eumaeus) and Laurent Gras (Foundation) rounded out the top five.

Men’s C Field

The C Field appears to have had some fast racing in the finale as the field was strung out coming across the line, with the win taken by Greg Hruby (CRCA) ahead of Matthew Payne (CRCA) and Vladimir Rabinovich (Kruis CX).

Full Results

Full results are available here: http://archive.crca.net/wp-content/uploads/3-29ClubRaceResults.pdf