Labor unrest calling for an end to cruelty against sprinters resulted in a last minute change to the race format today. Union members at the bottom of Cat’s Paw were incorrectly heard yelling “No more sprints”.  Race officials and the CRCA board, weary after recent member unrest, quickly cancelled the Power Points format and instead opted for a standard points race with a West 85th sprint and finish.  If only the evil capitalists would back down so quickly…

The change of format either had no impact on Foundation, or (if you believe in conspiracy theories) this was somehow all part of their cunning plan to dominate the Men’s races in the park today.  The fact that the Houlihan-Lokey Women’s team also performed strongly again today after being spotted with Foundation riders recently, added to the credibility of the theory.

In the Men’s A race,  Greg Olsen (Jonathan Adler) unfortunately flatted on the first lap, leaving Adler one man down in their show down with Foundation.  The Foundation riders shared the sprints around and took the first four places with Rafael Meran finishing in first place.  David Taylor (Fuoriclasse/Discover Chiropractic) finished 5th and Jonathan Adler riders Ariel Mendez and Jeffrey Ingraham finished 6th and 7th.  Foundation scooped up maximum points and moved ahead in the Team competition; but with double points available in the Team Cup Finale, it looks likely that the competition will come down to the wire.  Ariel Mendez retained his leadership in the Jim Boyd Cup.

In the Men’s B race, Siggi’s/NYVelocity and Foundation were tied in the Team Cup competition coming in to the day’s race. The Siggi’s train was put in motion early in the race and continued to battle against Foundation’s Tony Munoz and John Blake throughout the race with Josh Sakofsky, Roger Parmalee and Michael Nelson scoring for Siggi’s.  In the end it was Tony Munoz in first, John Blake second and Roger Parmalee in third place.  Stephen Chang (Houlihan-Lokey/Sanchez)  finished in 6th.  Foundation moved ahead of Siggi’s in the Team Cup competition – but it looks like this competition will go down to the last race of the season as well.  Munoz extended his lead in the Jim Boyd Cup.

In the Women’s race, Houlihan-Lokey/Sanchez’s Kristin Lotito and Raquel Miller took first and second.  Erica Adelberg and Dara Kiese from Radical Media finished 3rd and fourth followed by Anneliesse Haines (NYVelocity Women’s Racing Team) and Danielle Kosecki (Asphalt Green Cycling Team) and Elizabeth Renner (NYVelocity Women’s Racing Team)

In the Men’s C race, Siggi’s riders Robert Wortmann and Oliver Davis finished 1st and 2nd while’s Daniel  finished third.

Full results are posted here.

Jim Boyd standings are updated and posted here.

Team Cup standings are updated and posted here.