Before today’s race, riders took a moment of silence to mourn the passing of Earl Osborne, a life member of the club who was active in developing and mentoring many successful riders in the club over his many years of involvement.  He will missed by all.

Once underway, riders in all fields battled the high temperatures, despite the 5:45 am start and headed off towards the return of a Tavern finish.

In the A field, a break formed early, but was brought back, reshuffled and spat out the front again.  Ken Harris (Jonathan Adler Racing) then went solo off the front for three laps before being joined by a group of five riders.  Surprisingly, Foundation was not represented in the break, while Adler had two riders – Ken Harris and Matt Cutler.  The six riders battled it out for the final sprint with Zachary Koop (Blue Ribbon – Translations) taking the win over Ken Harris and David Lee.  Gavin Robertson (Foundation) took the field sprint for 7th place.  But it was too little for Foundation who have now slipped to second place in the Team Cup, five points behind Jonathan Adler Racing.

With double points for the Jim Boyd competition, Zachary Koop shot up to second place and Ken Harris to third.  Ariel Mendez maintains his lead, but only by seven points.

The B Field started off quickly with the Sid’s Bikes NYC placing many of their riders upfront.  A number of breaks were attempted in the early laps, but were brought back relatively quickly.  On the fifth lap, the field seemed to call a truce as teams readied themselves for the inevitable field sprint.  Siggi’s/NYVelocity were on the front until Foundation moved to the front of the peloton.  In the final sprint it was Matthew Vandivort (Siggi’s/NYVelocity) who took the win after a change in strategy had him fresh at the finish.  John Blake (Foundation) took second and Antonio Munoz (Foundation) was third.

With second, third and seventh place, Foundation extended their lead in the Team Cup competition, now nine points ahead of Siggi’s/NYVelocity.  Vandivort’s twenty points for the win moved him up to second place in the Jim Boyd competition just nine points behind Antonio Munoz and six points ahead of John Blake.

The Women’s Race saw a break form early and stay away until the end. Kristin Lotito (Houlihan-Lokey/Sanchez) then took the honors at the line from Sarah Sauvayre (Comedy Central – Sid’s Bikes) and Raquel Miller (Houlihan-Lokey/Sanchez).  With no riders from Fuoriclasse/Discover Chiropractic represented in the top seven, Houlihan-Lokey/Sanchez extended their lead in the Team Cup to 55 points.  Raquel Miller moved into second place in the Jim Boyd Cup, but Kristin Lotito expanded her lead.

In the C Field, Robert Wortmann Jnr. (Siggi’s/NYVelocity) recorded his first win with a strong sprint to just pip Efrain Molina on the line.  Bobby Kennedy (New York Athletic Club) finished in third place.

As always, thank you to all those who marshaled and helped contribute to a safe race.

Full results are here.

Team Cup standings are updated here.

Jim Boyd competition standings are updated here.